drishti india page

How we Started

Drishti is the brain child of Shri Shankar Lal Gupta, who lost both his eyes when he was only three years old. He was from an ordinary family and had to struggle for his education and livelihood. In his journey, he embarked upon the idea for this organization and he did some initial work during his Indore days. As a formal organization "Drishti" was born on 15th October, 1995 in Chitrakut Dham Karwi which is also the birthday of Late Dr. A P J Kalam who was the pioneer of modern India and gave Vision 2020 document and appreciated efforts of Drishti during his Chitrakut visit in the year 2005. Initially, Drishti started its operation from a small rented room to provide Braille printed material and elementary Braille Bank equipments to help the visually impaired people. Later on it started a small hostel for blind girls which motivated Jagat Guru Swami Ram Bhadra Charya ji Maharaj to start a Viklanga Vishwvidalaya in Chitrakoot, accruing to which, Drishti has the distinction of becoming a source of inspiration for the first handicapped university of India.

Drishti Management

Shri Shankar Lal Gupta (Founder & General Secretary)

Shri Shankar Lal Gupta is the founder and mentor of Drishti and himself is blind. He is a post graduate and after completing ITI diploma joined BSNL, a central govt organization. Despite all his limitations, he is leading a successful individual professional and family life and contributes towards expansion of Drishti and its activities.

Shri Harshit Rajan (President)
Shri K.G. Gupta (Patron )
Shri Govind Saraf (Vice President)
Shri Virag Gupta (Director)
Shri Balbeer Singh (Secretary)
Shri Purushottam Das Gupta (Treasurer)
Shri Chandra Bhushan Pandey (Auditor)

Drishti Core Members

Shri Harishchandra Gupta

Presently, Drishti School and hostel are located on the land which has been provided by him at concessional rates and easy terms. Besides, he takes care of school children’s day to day requirements. He is ex President of the Congress Committee Karwi. Presently he is working as a manager in Chitrakoot Inter College, Karwi.

Smt Jayshree Jog
Shri Yogesh Jain
Shri Arun Gupta
Shri Dinesh Chandra Agrahari
Smt Navanta Sengar
Shri Rameshwar Prasad Raikwaar
Shri Ram Bahadur Singh Bhadoriya (Ex-Officio Member)
Shri Vijaychand Gupta (Ex-Officio Member)
Smt Varsha Gupta (Ex-Officio Member)

Advocacy & Placement Unit

  1. Mr K G Gupta  (President)
  2. Shri Rudraprasad (Member) 
  3. Shri Balveer Singh (Member) 
  4. Shri Rameshwar Prasad (Member) 
  5. Shri Yogesh Shukla (Member)

Employment Unit

  1. Smt Jayshree Jog  (President)
  2. Smt Kiran Bahri (Member) 
  3. Smt Viraj Gupta (Member)

developed & maintained by webcite